Skip links and keyboard navigation

Great Barrier Reef Catchments

Aquatic Conservation Assessments (ACAs) are available for the riverine and non-riverine (i.e. palustrine and lacustrine) freshwater wetlands for 35 of the Great Barrier Reef catchments. An ACA for the freshwater non-riverine wetlands of the Baffle Creek catchment are part of this assessment and supersedes the previous Baffle Creek assessment.

View the ACA non-riverine report (version 1.3). View the ACA riverine the report (version 1.1).

Find out more about accessing the data and reports on the get mapping help page.

The riverine and non-riverine data may also be accessed through WetlandMaps.

Environmental reports online provide information on specific environmental values, by location.

For further information on AquaBAMM and the ACA results email biodiversity.planning♲

Great Barrier Reef catchments - non-riverine ACA report

Quick facts


or Aquatic conservation assessments are an outcome of the Aquatic Biodiversity Assessment and Mapping Method (AquaBAMM).

This study
covers 35 catchments
of the Great Barrier Reef (GBR) including: Baffle, Barron, Belyando, Black, Bowen, Boyne, Burdekin lower, Burdekin upper, Burnett, Calliope, Comet, Curtis Island, Daintree, Dawson, Don, Fitzroy, Haughton, Herbert, Hinchinbrook Island, Isaac, Johnstone, Mackenzie, Mossman, Mulgrave-Russell, Murray, Nogoa, O’Connell, Pioneer, Plane, Proserpine, Ross, Shoalwater, Styx, Tully and Waterpark. To see the full list of GBR catchments go to WetlandSummary.

Last updated: 30 July 2017

This page should be cited as:

Great Barrier Reef Catchments, WetlandInfo 2013, Department of Environment and Science, Queensland, viewed 31 January 2020, <>.

Queensland Government
WetlandInfo   —   Department of Environment and Science