Skip links and keyboard navigation

Queensland Murray-Darling Basin

The Queensland Murray-Darling Basin contains a wide range of wetland types (riverine and non-riverine) within the 3 distinct bioregions of the southern Brigalow Belt, the New England Tablelands and the Mulga Lands. As a result, many diverse wetland types with their individual characteristics of geomorphology, hydrology, habitat and species composition are found throughout the region. As part of the Aquatic Conservation Assessment (ACA), 4 separate expert panels were run examining different aspects of the catchments in question.

View the ACA report: Murray-Darling Basin (version 1.4).

Find out more about accessing the data and reports on the get mapping help page.

The riverine and non-riverine data and reporting (information on specific environmental values, by location) may be accessed through WetlandMaps.

Information on specific environmental values, by location, is also available via Environmental reports online.

In 2021 the Department will undertake a full review and undate of the Queensland Murray-Darling Basin Aquatic Conservation Assessments. For more information see the Aquatic Conservation Assessments of Queensland Murray-Darling Basin riverine and non-riverine wetlands (v2.0) fact sheet

For further information on AquaBAMM and the ACA results email biodiversity.planning♲

Murray Darling-Basin ACA report

Quick facts


or Aquatic conservation assessments are an outcome of the Aquatic Biodiversity Assessment and Mapping Method (AquaBAMM).

Six catchments

were included in the Murray-Darling Basin ACA:

  • Border rivers
  • Moonie
  • Condamine-Balonne
  • Warrego
  • Paroo
  • Nebine-Mungalalla.

Last updated: 10 May 2021

This page should be cited as:

Department of Environment and Science, Queensland (2021) Queensland Murray-Darling Basin , WetlandInfo website, accessed 13 May 2021. Available at:

Queensland Government
WetlandInfo   —   Department of Environment and Science